Skip to main content

Prescribed Burn Advisory Committee - NEW


Prescribed Burn Advisory Committee provides technical expertise to the CCRCD, makes recommendations for action to the CCRCD Board of Directors, and provides a public forum for discussion of technical issues that impact the CCRCD’s role and responsibilities related to the CCRCD’s Prescribed Burn Program.



  • Mike Dvorak: CCRCD Board Member - confirmed
  • Wendy Harrison: Head of local CA Naturalist Program, retired State Park Interpreter – confirmed
  • Dennis Buns: Contract Fire Behavior Analyst, retired Forest Service – confirmed
  • Additional positions pending.



  • July 30th from 11:30am - 1pm at the San Andreas Public Library
  • Coordination of the event funded by the SNC Forest & Fire Capacity Building grant
  • First of a series of events on Forest & Fire topics.


A poster for a Forest & Fire Capacity Roundtable event in Calaveras County with details on the workshop, discussion points, and contact info.
Click link below for a printable flyer.




There was a problem saving your submission. Please try again later.
Please wait while your submission is being saved...
Thank you, your submission has been received.


A dog stands in front of a prescribed burn and a rural backdrop.
Landowner conducted broadcast burn in Calaveras County,.

The CCRCD board voted to approve the formation of a Prescribed Fire Ad Hoc Committee at the March 2024 board meeting.

The ad hoc committee is to present a feasibility study for the CCRCD becoming active practitioners of prescribed fire in our community at the May 2024 meeting containing:

  • Overview of prescribed fire - benefits and conservation objectives
  • Mother Lode Prescribed Burn Association history
  • Other RCDs doing prescribed fire (e.g. Placer RCD)
  • Liability concerns
  • Burning season
  • Required equipment
  • Training
  • Funding opportunities

The Prescribed Fire Ad Hoc Committee contains the following members:

  • Mike Dvorak (chair/board member)
  • Julia Marsili (board president)
  • John Osbourn (board member)
  • Ben Cook (associate director)
  • Trina Walley (executive director)
  • Claire Rappaport (community member)

Please reach out to Mike Dvorak if you have any input on making more prescribed/good fire a reality in Calaveras County.